Specialty Areas in Multimedia Storytelling

The video aspect of Multimedia Storytelling would most likely be my strongest specialty.  I have been majoring in Multimedia Communications with a concentration in Film Studies since I began my time at ONU. I have had a passion for film and making movies since I was I first grade.  I remember thinking I didn’t have the courage to act, but I could be like Steven Spielberg and make movies the way that I wanted them.  I am learning a lot even now about video production in the Basic Video Production class that Professor Bishop teaches, and will be able to apply a lot of what I will learn to the Multimedia Storytelling packages.  Another area of video that I have some experience in is editing.  I am good at editing and tend to be a bit of a perfectionist.  The editing process of video production, I would assume, is very important for multimedia storytelling. As with films, if the editing is bad then the communication of the story is lost, or at the very least hindered.  One other area that I feel like I’d do fairly well in is project management. I am confident that if put in the position of manager I could handle it very adequately. I feel comfortable in both leading and following.  That’s not to say that I couldn’t improve in my management skills. I am by no means the best leader out there, and would like to continue to improve in that area.

Some areas that I really need the most improvement in would be design, web and social media. For as much as I like the visual aspects of film and video, I have a very difficult time visualizing a good design for most things. I struggle to even make interesting power points for class presentations. As far as the web is concerned, I don’t really know much of anything. Just setting up this blog was a struggle for me.  I really just haven’t had a whole lot of experience with it.  Of all of the areas, however, that I need improvement in, social media is definitely the biggest.  I don’t have a Facebook, I don’t have Twitter, the only type of social media that I have any experience with is watching YouTube.  I understand the necessity of social media in the world of media today, but I really hate the whole idea of it.  For a generation that already feels entitled, allowing anyone to be able to post whatever they want about whatever they want is just asking for trouble.

Leave a Reply

